Pueblo auto accident: Understanding laws in Colorado
One can never predict a car accident. The aftermath of an auto accident is always stressful. There is a lot to deal with, especially when you have suffered serious injuries. Such crashes, accidents, and collisions are rather common in Colorado, and a considerable number of cases are reported in Pueblo alone. If the accident was a result of the other driver’s neglect, you can file a personal injury lawsuit, seeking compensation for your losses and damages. In this post, we are sharing more on laws in Colorado, and when you need to hire a Pueblo auto accident lawyer.
The statute of limitations
Colorado, like other states, has a statute of limitations, which allows three years to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. The count starts from the date of accident, and the same deadline applies for cases related to property damage. If the accident resulted in someone’s death, the family can file a wrongful death lawsuit within two years. In that case, the count starts from the date of death. Note that statute of limitations doesn’t apply to insurance claims.
Filing a report
No matter the cause or nature of accident, if there was property damage, accident, or death, a car accident must be reported. In other words, all car accidents must be reported. You can report the accident to local police, or nearest sheriff’s office. Keep in mind that filing the report may actually help your personal injury claim.
The modified comparative negligence rule
Colorado is a modified comparative negligence state. A person, with share of fault, can still file a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver at fault. Their share of fault, however, should not be or equal to 50%. Also, the awarded settlement will be reduced by their fault in percentage. For instance, if you had 10% fault and were given $50,000 in settlement, you will eventually get $45,000.
Do you need a personal injury lawyer?
Filing a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer and getting a fair compensation may not be easy. A skilled personal injury lawyer in Pueblo can evaluate the worth of your claim and ensure that you have enough evidence to negotiate with the insurance company. The good news is most attorneys work on a contingency fee, so you don’t need to pay right away. With a lawyer, you know your rights and circumstances better, which can help in taking the right decisions.
Check online for personal injury lawyers in Pueblo now!